News & Events

Jan. 24, 2022 – The Saskatchewan Parks and Recreation Association is proud to announce the winners of the 2021 SPRA RECognition Awards. These exceptional individuals and community groups worked hard to provide parks and recreation spaces and opportunities to their communities during unprecedented times in our province. They contributed to mental and physical health, their local and provincial economies, natural and built environments, and they helped people feel connected to their communities throughout the pandemic.   

The recipients of the 2021 SPRA RECognition Awards include:  

  • John Froese (Swift Current, SK) - President’s Award of Distinction
  • Kent McMann (Foam Lake, SK) - Volunteer of the Year Award
  • Town of Shellbrook, Shellbrook Richardson Pioneer Recreation Centre (Shellbrook, SK) - Cecil Nobes Facility Award of Excellence
  • Swift Current Community Youth Initiative (Swift Current, SK) - Community Achievement Award
  • Hepburn Centennial Park Project (Hepburn, SK) - Parks and Open Spaces Award  

“The 2021 RECognition Award winners have all led and inspired by example,” said Jody Boulet, SPRA President. “Their commitment to improving quality of life in their home communities is worthy of celebration. The impact of their actions this past year will be felt for years to come.”

To celebrate these exceptional individuals and community groups, SPRA has produced a series of videos to highlight their achievements. The videos will premiere on Facebook on Tuesday, January 25, 2022 and will be shared each day throughout the rest of the week.  

The SPRA RECognition Awards are celebrated annually to acknowledge the contributions made by volunteers and professionals in the recreation and parks industry throughout Saskatchewan. The program is made possible through funding by Sask Lotteries.  


Media Contact:
Christian Bates-Hardy
Communications Consultant  
Saskatchewan Parks and Recreation Association
Phone: (306) 552-3129 | Email: 

All Events

  Upcoming Events